In memoriam … Robin Williams

Like many others around the world, I just heard the tragic news regarding the loss of Robin Williams, who died today at the age of 63.

This is certainly saddening news, as several of Williams’ most well-known films came out during my childhood. He was a gifted actor and comedian, showcasing his abilities to both make people laugh and put on a gripping, dramatic performance.

Of Williams’ films, the ones I’ve enjoyed the most over the years (in no particular order) are Mrs. Doubtfire (1993), Aladdin (1992), Jumanji (1995), Good Morning, Vietnam (1987), Flubber (1997), Good Will Hunting (1997) and Insomnia (2002).

I think about it and wonder if this is how people felt when Elvis died (or something along those lines), as Williams was an artist of my generation whose work I’ve admired for years.

I won’t say much more, other than it’s a sad day indeed for the arts, especially for comedic artists. He will certainly be missed and remembered.

 





Leave a comment